Press Releases
Home  »  About APPA  »  Press Releases  »  Press Release

Press Releases

Contact: John Bernhards, Associate Vice President
703.684.1446 ext. 248,

APPA Recognizes Industry Excellence with Annual Awards

July 20, 2012, Alexandria VA This week APPA recognized 13 institutions and 11 individuals across six award categories for excellence in the educational facilities profession.

“APPA is pleased to recognize the hard work and successes of our institutional and individual members,” said David Cain, APPA’s Vice President, Professional Affairs, and the chair of the Awards and Recognition Committee.  “Their accomplishments demonstrate that facilities management can have a great impact on the ability of an education institution to realize its mission and vision.  In the current economy, it is more important than ever that education facilities are efficient, flexible and well-managed to meet the needs of the campus community.”

Harrisburg (Pa.) Area Community College, University of Colorado Boulder and Pima (Ariz.) Community College were recognized with the 2012 Award for Excellence in Facilities Management, APPA’s highest institutional honor.

Five universities received the Sustainability Award, which was introduced this year to reflect APPA’s 2008 Sustainability Statement that encourages the creation and maintenance of sustainable campus environments.  The 2012 Sustainability Award recipients are: University of British Columbia; University of California, Irvine; Emory University; American University; and University of Prince Edward Island.

APPA's Effective & Innovative Practices Award recognizes new programs or a significant restructuring of an existing program or process that enhances service delivery, lowers costs, increases productivity, improves customer service, generates revenue, or otherwise benefits the educational institution. Each recipient institution is eligible for a $4,000 cash award sponsored by Sodexo (SDXAY:OTC US).  The 2012 recipients are:  University of Texas at Austin, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University of Iowa, Western Michigan State and Purdue University.

The 2012 Fellow Award recognizes the past achievements and expected future service of former APPA President Bill Elvey (CAPPA), University of Texas - Dallas. This is APPA's highest individual achievement award, recognizing his years of dedication to both the educational facilities profession and APPA as an organization.

Tony Ichsan (PCAPPA), Santa Rosa Community College; Mark Hunter (PCAPPA) of California Polytechnic and State University, and Brian Worley (PCAPPA) of Claremont McKenna College were honored with the 2012 Meritorious Service Award.  This annual award recognizes individuals who have made significant, life-long contributions to the profession of education facilities management.

The recipients of the Pacesetter Award demonstrate service to APPA through contributions at the international, regional or chapter level.  The 2012 Pacesetter Award winners are:  Lynne Finn (CAPPA), South Dakota State University; Brandon Baswell (MAPPA), Michigan State University; Richard Davis (PCAPPA), Evergreen State College; Chris Eagan (RMA), University of Lethbridge; David Handwork (CAPPA), Arkansas State University; Sue-Anna Miller (CAPPA), University of Oklahoma; and Bob Cornero (ERAPPA), Monmouth University.

The 2012 award recipients were announced July 18 and 19 at the APPA 2012 Annual Conference and Exhibition in Denver.


APPA promotes leadership in educational facilities for professionals seeking to build their careers, transform their institutions, and elevate the value and recognition of facilities in education. APPA is the association of choice for more than 7,000 educational facilities professionals throughout the United States, Canada, and abroad.