Press Releases
Home  »  About APPA  »  Press Releases  »  Press Release

Contact: John Bernhards, Associate Vice President
703.684.1446 ext. 248,

Seven Education Facilities Professionals Honored with 2012 Pacesetters Award

July 20, 2012, Alexandria VA APPA announced the seven winners of its annual Pacesetters Award on Wednesday, July 18, during APPA’s Awards and Recognition program at the APPA 2012 Annual Conference and Exposition in Denver.

The 2012 winners are:  Lynne Finn (CAPPA), South Dakota State University; Brandon Baswell (MAPPA), Michigan State University; Richard Davis (PCAPPA), Evergreen State College; Chris Eagan (RMA), University of Lethbridge; David Handwork (CAPPA), Arkansas State University; Sue-Anna Miller (CAPPA), University of Oklahoma; and Bob Cornero (ERAPPA), Monmouth University.

 “The Pacesetter Award recognizes the contributions of the upcoming generation of education facilities professionals,” said David Cain, APPA’s Vice President, Professional Affairs, and the chair of the Awards and Recognition Committee.  “The accomplishments of this year’s Pacesetters are showcased through a variety of contributions at the chapter, regional and international level.” 

Pacesetter recipients must be active members of APPA for a minimum of three years and participate in meetings or other functions.  They demonstrate service to the association through contributions at the international, regional or chapter level that include but are not limited to: membership or leadership in an APPA committee, task force, or program; authorship of one or more papers published by APPA; and service as a presenter at APPA’s educational conferences and training programs.

Cain, also of Coconino Community College (Ariz.), and APPA 2011-12 President David Gray of Middle State Tennessee University presented the awards.


APPA promotes leadership in educational facilities for professionals seeking to build their careers, transform their institutions, and elevate the value and recognition of facilities in education. APPA is the association of choice for more than 7,000 educational facilities professionals throughout the United States, Canada, and abroad.