

Awards & Recognition Committee Report to Exec Committee & APPA Board- July 2019

From: Tony Guerrero, Vice President for Awards and Recognition & Chair

Staff Liaison: Kristin Witters

Date: June 24, 2019

Re: Report to Exec Committee & APPA Board

Each year, APPA recognizes individual institutional excellence and achievement through its awards program. Members of the Awards & Recognition Committee met virtually in order to review the APPA 2019 Awards Program nominations and recommend award recipients. A total of 58 award submissions were received and reviewed by committee members (up from a total of 52 submissions last year).

Awards Review Activity:

Meritorious Service – 9
Pacesetter – 4
Effective and Innovative Practices (E&I) – 21
Sustainability – 24

The committee convened on April 8, 2019 to finalize award recommendations for Meritorious Service, Pacesetter, E&I and Sustainability. All awardees will receive special recognition during the Awards Reception/Ceremony held in conjunction with the APPA 2019 Educational Conference & Exhibition in Denver on July 15, 2019 along with recognition on both APPA's website and in APPA's *Facilities Manager* magazine.

2019 Sustainability Innovation Award

APPA's Sustainability Innovation Award in Facilities Management is designed to recognize and promote unique and innovative sustainable practices in the educational facilities and campus environments. It is awarded to educational institutions that have implemented programs and processes that enhance service delivery, lower costs, create a green and/or sustainable environment, or otherwise benefit the educational institution supporting student success and environmental stewardship.

Stanford University Residential and Dining (PCAPPA)
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (SRAPPA)
University of California – Davis (PCAPPA)
University of Texas at Dallas (CAPPA)
College of Lake County (MAPPA)

2019 Effective & Innovative Practices Award

APPA's Effective & Innovative Practices Award recognizes programs and processes that enhance service delivery, lower costs, increase productivity, improve customer service, generate revenue, or otherwise benefit the educational institution. Award nomination entries must describe either a new program or significant restructuring of an existing program or process.

University of California – Davis
University of California- San Francisco
University of Alabama
(SRAPPA)
Illinois State University
(MAPPA)
California State University San Marcos
(PCAPPA)

2019 Meritorious Service Award

Each year, APPA members bestow the Meritorious Service Award upon the individual member or members who have made significant, life-long contributions to the profession of education facilities management. APPA's highest award for individual service, the Meritorious Service Award is given to no more than three individuals each year. Individuals must have been an active member of APPA for a minimum of ten consecutive years; attended and participated in meetings and other functions at the international level; and demonstrated continued and distinguished service to the association.

Chris Kopach (RMA)
David Handwork (CAPPA)
Ruthann Manlet (MAPPA)

2019 Pacesetters Award

The Pacesetter Award is designed to encourage further participation in APPA among those who have already made significant contributions at the regional or chapter level. Up to seven Pacesetter Awards may be given each year.

Connie Simmons (ERAPPA) lan Hadden (CAPPA) Thomas Polansky (PCAPPA) Kevin Mann (ERAPPA)

Committee:

Vice President for Awards and Recognition & Chair:

Tony Guerrero, University of Washington Bothell

Committee Members

CAPPA: <u>Helen Bailey</u>, University of North Texas ERAPPA: <u>Jessica Abbott</u>, University of Hartford

MAPPA: Doug Laditka, Albion College

PCAPPA: Maricela Garcia-Flores, California State University East Bay

RMA: John Gleason, University of Colorado, Denver

SRAPPA: <u>Dan Whatley</u>, Auburn University

Staff Liaison: Kristin Witters, APPA Director of Member and Community Engagement

Committee Charge:

The Awards & Recognition Committee is responsible for recognition of the Effective and Innovative Practices (E&I) award, the Sustainability award as well as recognition of individual services and achievement by considering applications for such individual awards as the Meritorious Service, the APPA Fellow, and the Pacesetter award. The committee's recommendations are then sent to the APPA Board of Directors for final approval.