ERAPPA: Eastern Region

Jessica Abbott ERAPPA President University of Hartford

A total of 478 attendees with 210 of those participants representing 92 educational institutions attended the 2019 ERAPPA Annual Meeting, themed "Chart Your Course" in Erie, Pennsylvania. This year's annual conference was hosted by the Keystone Chapter of APPA (KAPPA) under the leadership of Beth Clark (Penn State University) and Pete Buchheit (University of Pittsburgh - Bradford). Delegates enjoyed a thought-provoking and inspiring educational program that included keynote speaker Adam Kreek, a two-time Olympian, who spoke on failure and finding your next gold medal moment, and plenary speaker Jack Uldrich, a global futurist, who educated the conference delegates on constructively thinking about the future through AHA – Awareness, Humility, and Action. On Monday morning conference attendees had the opportunity to join Adam Kreek for an Olympic pre-breakfast workout – only thirteen people were brave enough! The Monday night networking event took place at the Erie Maritime Museum where delegates got to enjoy food, entertainment, and tours of the US Brig Niagara.

Outgoing President Arthur Walsh presided over a robust awards banquet while Outgoing Past President Kevin Mann emceed and entertained the crowd. APPA Vice President for Professional Development Beth Clark was in attendance; she recognized ERAPPA members who received APPA awards and also installed the 2019 – 2020 ERAPPA Board.

Next year's conference will be September 27 – 30, 2020 in Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada.

APPA Awards

Pacesetter Award: Kevin Mann (Salisbury University) and Connie Simmons (Phillips Exeter)

Unsung Hero Award: Phillip Melnick (Penn State University) and Amy Baker (DI Group Architecture)

ERAPPA Awards

Rising Star Award: Billy Gagnon (Phillips Exeter) and Marina Theriault (Dalhousie University)

Chapter Champion Award: Sheri Vucci (Smithsonian Institution), Pat Whitney (Framingham State University), Amy Baker (DI Group Architecture), Bruce MacNeil (University of New Brunswick - Fredericton), Kari Miller (DLA+ Architecture & Interior Design), Anita Bailey (Phillips Exeter)

President's Award: Billy Gagnon (Phillips Exeter), George Stooks (St. John Fisher College), Patty Smith

Norman H. Bedell Award: Norman Young (University of Hartford)

Emeritus Status: Dana Peterson (Retired, University of New Hampshire) and Holly Mussatti (Retired, American University)

Outgoing: Chapter Presidents, Committee Members, 2019 Host Committee Members, Liaisons to APPA Committees, and Board Members were recognized and thanked for this significant service and contribution.

2019 – 2020 ERAPPA Officers

President/Junior Representative – Jessica Abbott, University of Hartford

President-Elect – **Sheri Vucci**, Smithsonian Institution

Past President/Senior Representative – Arthur Walsh, Dalhousie University

Vice President for Professional Development - Mary Grube, St. Mary's College of Maryland

Vice President for Annual Meetings – George Stooks, St. John Fisher College

Vice President for Member & Community Engagement – Patty Smith, Cabrini University

Vice President for Chapter Affairs – Andy Wilson, Slippery Rock University

Vice Presidents for Technology & Communications – Jason Sawyer, Smithsonian Institution

Secretary – **Jon Terry**, Quinnipiac University

Treasurer – **Phillip Melnick**, Penn State University

Business Partner Representative – Amy Baker, DIGroupArchitecture

APPA Liaison – Lander Medlin