Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer

From the Magazine: APPA’s 2023 Award Winners 

February 4, 2024

Five educational institutions and six educational facilities professionals have been honored for their excellence and achievement in APPA’s 2023 Awards Program. As profiled in the January/February Facilities Manager, the latest recipients are recognized for initiatives aimed at addressing the workforce shortage, streamlining business operations, promoting resource and energy efficiency, and much more.

The 2023 recipients: 

  • University of Arizona (Award for Excellence in Facilities Management) 
  • University of Houston (Award for Excellence in Facilities Management)  
  • California State University’s Women in Facilities program (Effective and Innovative Practices Award) 
  • University of Alabama Custodial Summer Housing Operations Process Improvement Initiative (Effective and Innovative Practices Award) 
  • University of California Davis (Sustainability Innovation Award) 
  • Theodore J. (Ted) Weidner, Purdue University (APPA Fellow) 
  • Priti Bhatia, Georgia Institute of Technology (Pacesetter Award) 
  • Phillip Melnick, Pennsylvania State University (Pacesetter Award) 
  • Angie Mitchell, Southeast Missouri State University (Pacesetter Award) 
  • Dan Bollman and Adam Lawver, Michigan State University (Rex Dillow Award for Outstanding Article) 

Learn more about the APPA Awards program and see the complete article, including excerpts of interviews with several recipients.

APPA Fellows “are a special group of men and women. They have assisted others in the educational facilities industry as well as managed significant challenges… [including] floods, windstorms, financial restrictions, regulations, a pandemic, and more.”

Ted Weidner, 2023 APPA Fellow 

Comments are closed.