Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer

Indianapolis Sets Stage for 2024 Best Practices in Facilities Management

October 2, 2023

APPA U in Indianapolis engaged hundreds of facilities management professionals with hands-on and leadership skills, networking opportunities.

Nearly 400 facilities professionals from educational institutions, school districts, libraries, and museums in 43 states and countries as far as Nigeria and Brazil gained real-world leadership and technical skills at APPA U in Indianapolis September 10–14. Supported by leaders who see the beneficial impact of engaged employees on team success, attendees gathered for informative educational sessions and professional networking opportunities over the course of this multi-day event.

In conjunction with the offering of APPA U, which consists of all four tracks of the Institute for Facilities Management and all four levels of the Leadership Academy, this unique week of facilities management training included a Targeted Technical Topics session on the recently updated Operational Guidelines custodial book as well as a Supervisor’s Toolkit program covering the nuts and bolts of facilities supervision.

Critical to the success of APPA U was the dedication of its deans and faculty. Thanks to the following professionals who shared their time, knowledge, and expertise:


Paula Farnsworth (Academy Dean)

Lynne Finn (Institute Dean)


Paula Farnsworth (Academy Dean)

Lynne Finn (Institute Dean)

Don Guckert (Institute Dean)

Chris Smeds (Institute Dean)

Mary Vosevich (Institute Dean)

Associate Deans

Lalit Agarwal

Michelle Frederick

Sadie Greiner

Rollie Zumbrunn


Lalit Agarwal, Tom Becker, Joe Bilotta, Allen Boyette, Shawna Code, Chuck Farnsworth,  Ben Fish, Tom Flood, Michelle Frederick, Brett Garrett, Jamie Gayer, Jeff Gee, Christina Hills, Markus Hogue, Sherri Jett, Tom Jones, Suzanne Kitten, Jay Klingel, Steve Kraal, Viron Lynch, Lander Medlin, Mark Miller, Jacob Olson, Matt Pefley, Gary Reynolds, Thomas Rodgers, Brandon Rux, Larry Schuster, Joel Sims,  Mark Stanis, Ana Thiemer, Steve Thweatt, Ed von Bleichert, Ted Weidner, Julius Williams, Rollie Zumbrunn, Jeff Zumwalt.

Leadership Academy Graduates

Mike Averett, University of Evansville

Ty Bakel, Aims Community College

Mark Barcus, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign

Jeffrey Bonk, Michigan State University

Dick Davis, Butler University

Estelle DeJonge, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Aziz Hussaini, University of Rochester

Bill Kennedy, U.S. Olympic Committee

Jason Marriot, The University of Texas at Dallas

Mark Obenshain, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill

Sean Scroggs, Woodward Academy

Institute for Facilities Management Graduates

Graduates of APPA’s Institute for Facilities Management, September 2023 in Indianapolis, Indiana

Peter Ampuja, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Tony Ashcraft, University of Kentucky

Daniel Cooper, University of Alabama at Huntsville

James Crockett, Yavapai College

Kevin Farthing, University of Oregon

Henry Garrison, University of Virginia

Brian Lasey, Arkansas State University

Jeff McGlamery, Kenyon College

Timothy Mininger, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

Britney Ragland, University of Kentucky

Matthew Rom, University of Oklahoma

Collin Sewell, University of Alabama

Tim Stillwell, Georgia Southern University

Tyler Walker, Florida State University

Robert Weeks III, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Ryan Welch, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Timothy Winder, University of Oregon

Supervisor’s Toolkit

Dave Patten

T3 Custodial

Tom Becker

Ted Weidner

Tom Jones

Thanks to all who attended APPA U in Indianapolis. Learn about other upcoming APPA events, and register now for the Next APPA U: January 8-12, 2024 in New Orleans, Louisiana

Comments are closed.